AEGEE

 WHAT IS AEGEE?

You want to make a difference, promote European integration or simply realize exciting projects together with nice people from all over Europe?

Then You are exactly right with AEGEE!

AEGEE

is the largest European interdisciplinary student organization with local groups in 40 European countries and over 200 university cities. The abbreviation stands for „Association des États Généraux des Étudiants de l’Europe“ and can be translated as the European Students Forum. AEGEE is a volunteer, nonprofit organisation and politically and religiously independent. We are a Europe-wide network consisting of 13,000 members in 40 European countries with about 200 local university groups, so-called: “antennas”. All this is coordinated locally and on European but not at the national level!

AEGEE-Passau 

was founded in 1990 by Marco Kalbusch and has since been very active on the network and is now one of the top 10 local groups and is widely known within the network. Among the most important events of the past years includes the “One World Convention on Social Business” in which 46 participants from across Europe interactively engaged in four days with the topic Social Business and Development. Furthermore, the European School 1 and 2, respectively, a week training on Project Management. Due to the large crowds of exchange students in Passau we are strongly committed in this sector and provide students with many information and recreational events and assist them with advice and guidance. Since the winter semester 2015/16 we are also committed to the integration of refugees in Passau and organized the workshop “Music Connects the World”, in which Germans and refugees met to play music together.

So what are our objectives?

We want to realize an unified Europe without prejudices, true to the motto “United in Diversity”. We fight for an open and tolerant society today and in the future. Here we represent and promote values ​​and goals such as democracy, human rights, tolerance, cross-border co-operation, mobility and a European dimension in education. We are committed to cultural exchange, civil citizenship, higher education and peace and stability. The organization enjoys consultative status with the Council of Europe and the United Nations. Moreover AEGEE has an action status at UNESCO and is a member of the European Youth Forum. Our work is supported by the European Commission.

How do we do that?

This happens in the form of Europe-wide days of action, through support of Erasmus students, by training and workshops, Summer Universities, case study trips, thematic projects, conferences, parties and much more!

And for that we need …?

… A lot of insanely motivated young people who stand up for their ideals and the ideals of AEGEE. With AEGEE open minded persons find a perfect environment to learn intercultural skills and to act as committed Europeans, true to the motto:

Some call it Europe, we call it home!

AEGEE

 WAS IST AEGEE?

Du willst etwas bewegen, europäische Integration vorantreiben oder einfach nur mit netten Leuten aus ganz Europa spannende Projekte verwirklichen?

Dann bist Du bei AEGEE genau richtig!

AEGEE

ist die größte europäische interdisziplinäre Studierendenorganisation mit lokalen Gruppen in 40 europäischen Ländern und über 200 Universitätsstädten.Das Kürzel steht für „Association des États Généraux des Étudiants de l’Europe“ und kann mit Europäischem Studierendenforum übersetzt werden. AEGEE arbeitet ehrenamtlich, gemeinnützig, und konfessionell und politisch unabhängig. Wir sind ein europaweites Netzwerk, bestehend aus 13.000 Mitgliedern in 40 europäischen Ländern mit etwa 200 lokalen Hochschulgruppen, sog. Antennen. Dies alles wird lokal und europäisch koordiniert, jedoch nicht auf nationaler Ebene!

AEGEE-Passau 

wurde 1990 von Marco Kalbusch gegründet und ist seitdem im Netzwerk sehr aktiv und zählt mittlerweile zu den 10 größten lokalen Gruppen und genießt große Bekanntheit innerhalb des Netzwerkes. Zu den wichtigsten Veranstaltungen der letzte Jahre gehören zum einen die „One World Convention on Social Business“, bei der sich 46 Teilnehmer aus ganz Europa vier Tage lang interaktiv mit den Themen Social Business und Development beschäftigten. Des Weiteren sind die European School 1 und 2, ein jeweils einwöchiges Training zum Thema Projektmanagement anzuführen.  Durch den großen Andrang an Austauschstudenten in Passau engagieren wir uns stark in diesem Sektor und bieten den Studierenden viele Informations- sowie Freizeitveranstaltungen an und stehen ihnen mit mit Rat und Tat zur Seite. Seit dem Wintersemester 2015/16 engagieren wir uns außerdem für die Integration der Flüchtlinge in Passau und organisierten den Workshop  „Music Connects the World“, bei dem sich Deutsche und Geflüchtete gemeinsam zum musizieren trafen.

Was sind also unsere Ziele?

Wir möchten ein vereintes Europa ohne Vorurteile verwirklichen, ganz getreu dem Motto „United in Diversity“. Wir kämpfen für eine offene und tolerante Gesellschaft heute und in der Zukunft. Dabei vertreten und fördern wir Werte und Ziele wie Demokratie, Menschenrechte, Toleranz, länderübergreifende Kooperation, Mobilität und eine europäische Dimension in der Bildung. Wir setzen uns für kulturellen Austausch, zivilbürgerschaftliches Engagement, höhere Bildung und Frieden und Stabilität ein. Die Organisation genießt Beraterstatus beim Europarat und den Vereinten Nationen. Darüber hinaus hat AEGEE Handlungsstatus bei der UNESCO und ist Mitglied des Europäischen Jugendforums. Unsere Arbeit wird von der Europäischen Kommission unterstützt.

Wie machen wir das?

Das geschieht in Form von europaweiten Aktionstagen, durch Betreuung der Erasmusstudenten, durch Trainings und Workshops, Summer Universities, Case Study Trips, thematischen Projekten, Konferenzen, Parties und vielem mehr!

Und dafür brauchen wir…?

…eine Menge wahnsinnig motivierter junger Leute, die sich für ihre Ideale und die Ideale von AEGEE einsetzen. Mit AEGEE finden Weltoffene eine perfekte Umgebung um interkulturelle Kompetenzen zu erlernen und als engagierte Europäerinnen und Europäer zu handeln, getreu dem Motto:

Some call it Europe, we call it home!