One World Convention

One World Convention on Social Business

From 19th to 22nd May 2011, our One World Convention on Social Business took place in Passau. The idea for the conference came into existence as some time ago a Nobel Peace Prize winner Muhammad Yunus held a lecture on Social Business in Passau. According to Yunus is: “The human mind () boundlessly creative. If you do not stop to think, you will find a solution “One of these solutions is: Social Business. Social businesses do not seek to maximize their profits, but the elimination of social problems and measure their success solely to this criterion. Yunus’ quote thus served as a guiding principle for the scheduled conference. From autumn 2010 the organization team around Project Manager Frida steadily enlarged and worked in different groups busily preparing for the conference. On 18th May 2011 it was finally so far: with the arrival of the 50 participants (AEGEE members from all over Europe as well as students from Passau) could begin the conference.. . In the four-day conference, the participants gained valuable knowledge in various presentations by keynote speakers and workshops about social business, microcredit financing and project management and then even creatively apply their knowledge in project groups. Of course for, the pleasure of the participants, there was taken care of a great meal in the versatile WiWi foyer that has since been converted into a breakfast and coffee break area. In addition to pasta, a salad bar, and homemade cake, there was always a selection of delicious organic and Fair Trade products.

In the evening hours finally a varied “Social programs” with guided tour, Bavarian dinner, Erasmus party and, of course belonging to any European AEGEE event European Night took place! A special highlight was the appearance of the Trachtenverein which taught us some dances and the “Schuhplattln”.

For success of the whole event, also contributed to the eligible speakers, among them e.g. Günter Nooke, personal G-8 representative for Africa of the Chancellor, Dr. Florian Grohs, managing director of Oikocredit Germany and Rebecca Szrama, independent social business consultant who extensively taught in lectures, panel discussions and workshops on their knowledge and met very interested and sometimes critical audience.

In the Best Practice Fair, which also took place in WiWi foyer, various companies that were working in the area of ​​social business and microcredit financing, presented and answered questions from all interested parties.   Finally, the participants were able to present and discuss their own social business concepts they elaborated in the project groups. All in all is therefore a great and intense weekend behind us. We would like to thank all partners and the hard-working helpers, without such a successful conference would not have been possible. We have financed our project, incidentally, in large part by funds from the Youth in Action program, which was created by the European Commission to support projects committed by young Europeans. Although the organization was not always easy, we strongly grew together during the long teamwork and preparatory phase of the conference and have learned so much. Who wants to know more about the conference, can check out our homepage oneworldconvention.aegee-passau.de with many pictures and extensive documentation.

One World Convention

One World Convention on Social Business

Vom 19. Bis 22. Mai 2011 fand hier in Passau unsere One World Convention on Social Business statt. Die Idee für die Konferenz kam zu Stande, als Friedensnobelpreisträger Muhammad Yunus vor einiger Zeit in Passau einen Vortrag zum Thema Social Business hielt. Laut Yunus ist: „Der menschliche Geist (  ) grenzenlos kreativ. Wenn man nicht aufhört nachzudenken, findet man eine Lösung.“ Eine dieser Lösungen lautet: Social Business. Social Businesses streben nicht nach der Maximierung ihres Profits, sondern nach der Behebung sozialer Probleme und messen ihren Erfolg ausschließlich an diesem Kriterium. Yunus Zitat diente somit als Leitsatz für die geplante Konferenz. Ab Herbst 2010 hat sich das Organisationsteam um Projektmanagerin Frida stetig vergrößert und in verschiedenen Gruppen eifrig an der Vorbereitung der Konferenz gearbeitet. Am  18.05.2011 war es dann schließlich so weit: mit der Anreise der ca. 50 Teilnehmer (AEGEE-Mitglieder aus ganz Europa  sowie Studenten aus Passau) konnte die Konferenz beginnen. . In den vier Konferenztagen  konnten die Teilnehmer bei verschiedenen Vorträgen hochkarätiger Redner und in Workshops wertvolles Wissen zum Thema Social Business, Mikrokreditfinanzierung und Projektmanagement sammeln und ihr Wissen anschließend in Projektgruppen selbst kreativ anwenden. Natürlich war auch für das leibliche Wohl der Teilnehmer bestens gesorgt –so wurde das wandlungsfähige Wiwi-Foyer zwischenzeitlich zum Frühstücks- und Kaffepausenplatz umfunktioniert. Neben Pasta-und Salatbuffet, sowie selbstgemachten Kuchen,  gab es stets eine Auswahl leckerer Bio- und Fair-Trade Produkte.

In den Abendstunden stand schließlich ein abwechslungsreiches „Social Programme“ mit Stadtführung, Bayerischem Abendessen, Erasmusparty und natürlich der zu jedem europäischen AEGEE-Event gehörenden European Night auf dem Programm! Ein besonderes Highlight war dabei der Auftritt des Trachtenvereins, der uns  einige Tänze und das „Schuhplattln“ beibrachte.

Zum Gelingen der gesamten Veranstaltung trugen natürlich auch die qualifizierten Redner bei, unter ihnen z.B.  Günter Nooke, persönlicher G-8 Afrikabeuftragter der Bundeskanzlerin, Dr. Florian Grohs, Geschäftsführer von Oikocredit Deutschland und Rebecca Szrama, selbstständige Social Business-Beraterin, die in Vorträgen, Podiumsdiskussionen und Workshops umfangreich ihr Wissen vermittelten und auf höchst interessierte und bisweilen kritische Zuhörer trafen.

Bei der Best Practice Messe, die ebenfalls im WIWI-Foyer stattfand, konnten sich verschiedene Unternehmen die im Bereich Social Business und Mikrokreditfinanzierung arbeiten, präsentieren und sich den Fragen aller Interessierten stellen.   Zum Abschluss konnten die Teilnehmer die in den Projektgruppen ausgearbeiteten eigenen Social-Business Konzepte vorstellen und diskutieren. Alles in Allem liegt also ein tolles und intensives Wochenende hinter uns. Wir möchten uns ausdrücklich bei allen Partnern und den fleißigen Helfern bedanken, ohne die eine so gelungene Konferenz niemals möglich gewesen wäre. Finanziert haben wir unser Projekt übrigens zum großen Teil durch Gelder des Youth in Action Programmes, welches, von der Europäischen Kommission geschaffen wurde, um Projekte engagierter junger Europäer/innen zu unterstützen. Auch wenn das  Organisationsteam es nicht immer leicht hatte, so sind wir während der langen Teamarbeits- und Vorbereitungsphase der Konferenz stark zusammengewachsen und haben unglaublich viel gelernt. Wer noch mehr über die Konferenz erfahren möchte, der findet auf unserer Homepage oneworldconvention.aegee-passau.de viele Bilder und eine umfangreiche Dokumentation.